It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Acne Message Board

• Having Aldactone/Spironolactone/Spiro problems, could use some advice; PAIN, SIDE EFF

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 02-01-2011, 07:04 PM   #1
    hmj211
    (female)

hmj211 HB User
    Having Aldactone/Spironolactone/Spiro problems, could use some advice; PAIN, SIDE EFF

I've been on 100 mg of Aldactone/spiro for at least four months. I stopped taking it for a few days..and all the cystic acne seems to have come back. I've been fighting this for eight years (with Accutane for three)...it's so frustrating. I use 10% benzoyl peroxide cream and Retin-A every other day (though, too be fair, I hadn't been as attentive...but that still doesn't explain how I broke out everywhere, when I'm on this damn drug), wash my face with Ivory soap (fragrance-free) because it's the only thing that doesn't seem to leave a film, and try to be conscientious about the make-up/products I use on my face. I don't wear sunscreen unless I go out before 4 PM and use an aloe moisturizer that hasn't broken me out before.

It had negligible results for a while, worked well for a month, and now I'm back to square one. What happened? Will I have to start again? Should I up my dosage?

More importantly--in addition to the Aldactone, I am on 20 mg Prozac, have been for three months, and during a stressful evening, felt horrible in a way I never have before. I thought it was the Prozac, but now I'm suspecting it was the Aldactone.

The incident was set off by emotional stress, but during this period I had serious pain from the base of my neck to my ankles and it was concentrated in my lower back. My muscles felt like they were on fire; I felt muscle spasms; my head was pounding; and my heart was racing. It lasted for hours and made it difficult to sleep, even though I was exhausted.