It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

ADD / ADHD Message Board

• adult just diagnosed ADD - take adderall or straterra?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 11-19-2003, 09:41 AM   #1
    catatbu

catatbu HB User
    Diagnosed Yesterday - Adult ADD. So which is better - Adderall or Straterra?

I've just been diagnosed (at age 23) with adult ADD. All my life I've been dealing with frustration over a lack of focus and organization that, until recently, I thought EVERYONE must deal with consistently. My self-esteem plummeted as I told myself that I simply must not have the personal character to excercise discipline over my everyday life. I've been in 9 car accidents. I have been a bored B-average student with (seemingly contradictory) National Merit and law school scholarships based on high standardized test scores. My mind races so fast and I have so many unfinished projects laying around that I sometimes feel that I'm literally going insane. I have been in and out of passionate, quick relationships (dating AND friends) since high school, and find that I have a short attention span for people. I can't watch TV for more than 30 minutes, even though I WANT to. I have been trying to fix, understand, and accept these parts of myself for as long as I can remember. And all along, I thought that everyone else had already achieved that "goal." I'm sure you all know what I mean.