It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

ADD / ADHD Message Board

• Police Officer diagnosed with Adult ADD, will I bust a drug test?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 05-18-2004, 06:19 PM   #1
    Lynn123

Lynn123 HB User
    Police Officer diagnosed with Adult ADD, will I bust a drug test?

I have been a police officer for 10 years. I have been diagnosed with Adult ADD and prescribed Adderall 10mg. I am concerned about having to take "amphetamines". I haven't told my supervisor that I will be taking this medication (haven't started yet). Will they say I can't take Adderall while on duty? If I was to take a drug test will I test positive? If I was to be involved in a shooting, what are the legal issues? What should I do? I know I need this medication, I'm miserable. Help?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-18-2004, 06:32 PM   #2
    sodawater
    (male)

sodawater HB User
    Re: Police Officer diagnosed with Adult ADD, will I bust a drug test?

I would think using a controlled substance for its prescribed purpose must be acceptable, even for officers.

For example, using Tylenol 3 with codeine as prescribed would be ok, right? And just as Adderall is an amphetamine, codeine is an opiate.

Amphetamines are stigmatized but what you are doing is perfectly legal. God forbid it came to a shooting, but to be on the safe-side, maybe do this: make sure your doctor has given you the most airtight diagnosis possible (an oxymoron with ADD, I know). In a lawsuit, you wouldn't be able to afford any suggestion that your ADD was in any way uncertain.

If that is done, doctors would probably go to bat for you and explain how Adderall works on the ADD brain - ie in a way supposedly counter to how amphetamines work on someone else.

Just my two cents, but maybe spend sometime while you're here looking around for some ideas as to how many of us try to manage our ADD without using stimulants....