It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

ADD / ADHD Message Board

• New Guy on Ritalin: Low dose normal?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 10-28-2003, 11:25 PM   #1
    man007

man007 HB User
    Question New Guy on Ritalin: Low dose normal?

Hi-
    As a newly diagnosed ADD adult, I'm new to this, but here goes:

I'm not taking nearly as much Ritalin as some of you are, and I don't have the side effects at all. I'm 38, a full time student, and I take 5mg in the AM and 5mg at lunch. Been at it for a month, almost. So far, so good. It helps me a little, but I haven't been "wowed" the way some people describe. Is this normal or will the doc probably increase the dose later on?

I take a lot of vitamins as it is, but fish oil is a good one to add. What are the benefits of this in relation to Ritalin use?

Thanks

Last edited by Administrator; 03-16-2012 at 04:22 PM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-29-2003, 01:58 AM   #2
    brainfog
    Inactive

brainfog HB User
    Just because it "helps you" doesn't mean it's your therapeutic dose. Everyone is unique and doses vary from person to person.

Let your doctor know what's going on. Time and time again people respond positively to an initial dose and stop. The problem with this is they don't work with the dosage to find the correct therapeutic dose for them. You need to find the correct amount of stimulation without over stimulation and at a dose(s) that last throughout the entire day.

Old 10-29-2003, 11:27 PM   #3
    man007

man007 HB User
    Thanks for the reply.
    Yeah, I kind of figured this was the issue. Have to do some trial and error to arrive at that.

I've cut coffee completely out of my regimen, so that should stabilize things a bit. What about adding fish oil? Is this a worthwhile supplement? What's it do, anyway?

Old 11-18-2003, 07:08 PM   #4
    Kells2hyper

Kells2hyper HB User
    Smile