It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

ADD / ADHD Message Board

• Advice, please - how to talk to DR: current med doesn't work, want to switch

• Post New Thread   Reply Reply
    Old 06-11-2013, 05:33 PM   #1
    Jackiepants
    (female)

Jackiepants HB User
    Unhappy Advice, please - how to talk to DR: current med doesn't work, want to switch

Hello,

This is my first time posting to this board, so thanks for welcoming me into the community

I am 26 yo F, who was recently diagnosed with ADD (inattentive) and anxiety. I have had symptoms of ADD my entire life (as chronicled by teachers reports and comments, as well as physical symptoms) but was never given meds for it because I never had healthcare growing up.

As such, my doctor (psychiatric NP) gave me a 10mg dose of Ritalin IR, to take "as needed" throughout the day. She said she prescribes ritalin over adderall b/c it is more well-studied, and she said there's no real need for XR because it shouldn't be too much of a hassle to take the pills multiple times a day.

So, I've started on the Ritalin as per her orders, but it's very unpleasant. It doesn't work - I still feel just as unfocused and inattentive. Since I've upped the dose (as per her orders), I STILL feel inattentive, and my anxiety just increases. Plus, I'm having stomach upset and headaches. Although I don't get the positive benefits, I'm experiencing a lot of negative side effects, and the pill wears off after only about 3 hours after which I start to feel EVEN worse (jittery, stomach aches, headaches all worse). In other words, I'm just as inattentive and unfocused, but now I get horrible physical symptoms and crash periodically throughout the day. I feel like I'm worse off now than before!