It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addiction & Recovery Message Board

How do I stop drinking? I want to try on my own.

Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-16-2018, 02:59 PM   #1
Faith51
(female)

Faith51 HB User
How do I stop drinking? I want to try on my own.

I have been drinking a couple to a few beers a night for 30 years. I retired from a very physical job in December and started drinking more. My husband would complain about it so I started buying , drinking, and hiding Vodka. I am probably having the equivelant of 6-10 drinks a day now. Some days I wake up very shaky.

I have been the epitome of fitness up until I retired in December. Now because of the drinking I don't feel like working out and I have gained 15 pounds! It's a vicious cycle because this only makes me want to drink more. Can I do this on my own?

I am so freaked out about having a seizure but I don't know if I drank enough to warrant that? Does anyone know? I just want to quit so bad and get back to my physical fitness. I have had only two beers today and still feel ok. My goal is to taper and quit completely. I want to enjoy my retirement. I would appreciate any advice or thoughts on this.
Thank you my friends.

Last edited by Administrator; 07-16-2018 at 09:42 PM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-17-2018, 01:05 AM   #2
YaYagirl
Senior Veteran
(female)

YaYagirl HB UserYaYagirl HB UserYaYagirl HB UserYaYagirl HB UserYaYagirl HB UserYaYagirl HB UserYaYagirl HB UserYaYagirl HB UserYaYagirl HB UserYaYagirl HB UserYaYagirl HB User
Re: How do I stop drinking? I want to try on my own.

Dear Faith,

In my opinion, since you tend to addiction, NO alcohol is the best policy. That you have been drinking 30 years, and you buy it, drink it and hide it appears exactly like plain old addiction. I say six to ten drinks a day and waking up shaky at all is addiction.