It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addiction & Recovery Message Board

• HELP re Bup finale to MS Contin taper (????)

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 08-06-2003, 01:18 PM   #1
    Grinolla
    Inactive

Grinolla HB User
    Post HELP re Bup finale to MS Contin taper (????)

>Once you've plateaued, then the doctor can start tapering you down
    >about 2 mg (or less) every two weeks

To all, especially Very Lucky/Mr Hope: (incl. message to Oldtimer)

I have been reading several threads re Bup with major interest, as I do not have a dr with either experience or patience with questions and a complicated situation to which his training does not apply, as he keeps reminding me (did I listen? Nooo; he was so gung-ho at first that I did not appreciate the significane of "I have NO experience.") In any case, I was an intractable pain pt for the better part of the last 30 yrs. But the source of this symptom of my disorder regresses as women enter middle age & estrogen decreases. So, I am now trying to get completely off the MS Contin I've used to treat my pain since '97, ultimately by way of Subutex. And I've been tapering for the last 6 months and am down to 105 mgs, the equivalent of about 35 mgs of methadone, maybe 60 mgs Oxy & 10.5 Vicodin, so far. I began at several hundreds of mgs more, at first just to see if/how far my pain had regressed. Now it appears I can go all the way, but time is of the essence, for reasons including, but by far not limited to surgery both desparately needed & funded by a group insurance plan likely to be terminated at the end of this calendar year. And I had planned to switch to the Buprenex, now Subutex when I got down to the equivalent of 30 mgs methadone (90 mgs MS) and then just stop that within a week since I thought it did not build physical dependence, especially in such a short time.