It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addiction & Recovery Message Board

• flushed 'em

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 05-01-2005, 06:02 PM   #1
    Mike_NY
    (male)

Mike_NY HB User
    flushed 'em

Hi.

I flushed my bottle of klonopin down the toilet moments ago. I've been chipping away at it for a couple of months now. Was taking about .25 mg a day a few days a week. I've been assured by my addiction councelor that I won't have any *severe* reactions to cold turkeying it. I don't feel good from that poison..it makes me dizzy and lethargic, and has caused me MORE anxiety at this point than if I never took any of it. When your armed with the self knowledge that us recovering addicts have you feel like crap when you use a mind-altering, mood changing substance. I've been obsessing over my benzo use, and worried about WD, etc. I finally came clean today to people about this and it felt very relieving. Throwing that stuff down the toilet was one of the hardest things I have ever done! I've been hanging onto that bottle since Jan. 15th when I quit hydro and alcohol, and it's been talking to me ever since...it's almost like the last vestige of my disease that was hanging on. It's like the work I have done since January has put the disease in a corner, and you know what can happen if you trap and animal in a corner it can get real nasty and behave out of character like that cute raccoon you may see prancing in a field. Trap him in a corner and he could become quite nasty and do what he has to to survive...that's how i feel about my addiction..it's where I am at right now..i trapped my disease in a corner by working on recovery and it (the disease) got quite nasty making me anxious and moody and having the pill bottle talk to me.... the disease wants to survive in me- the host...but I flushed it down the toilet and admitted once again that I am ****ing powerless over my addiction..and with that