HealthBoards

HealthBoards (https://www.healthboards.com/boards/)
-   Addiction & Recovery (https://www.healthboards.com/boards/addiction-recovery/)
-   -   Need advice please! My BF is trying to come off vicodin (https://www.healthboards.com/boards/addiction-recovery/286996-need-advice-please-my-bf-trying-come-off-vicodin.html)

jackilovesscott 05-23-2005 08:52 AM

Need advice please! My BF is trying to come off vicodin

Hi everyone,

I need to ask some of you for your help and insight because I am new to this. I am not the person who is addicted, I am the girlfriend of the person who is. My boyfriend of 5 months just trusted me last month with this secret of his that heís been hiding for over 3 years now. Heís addicted to vicodin. Heís never told ANYONE. I felt honored and wonderful that he felt comfortable enough to tell me and trust me with it, and I am determined to do anything I need to do to help him. Well, his doctor put him on something to help with the withdrawal symptoms (I donít know the name of it). Itís been a month now, and heís been acting so differently toward me, and I just want to know from some of you who have experience with this what I should expect. In the beginning I was very secure in our relationship and how he felt about me. We talked about things like moving away together, getting married, etc. Just a few weeks ago he asked if I would go look at houses with him. Last weekend he dug up a big piece of his nice backyard grass and put topsoil down just so I could have a garden because he knew I always wanted one. Well, One question I have is do these meds affect your libido? Because he hasnít been into doing anything for over a month (about the time since all this started). Also, this past weekend he started acting very strange. He said to me thereís no surprise in our relationship, itís expected that we hang out, we went to fast, and we should both have space to ďrefreshĒ our relationship. These donít sound like things someone would say who