It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addiction & Recovery Message Board

• I am devastated and need help

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 09-12-2005, 11:31 AM   #1
    (female)

331111 HB User
    I am devastated and need help

I am new here. I have been hanging out for a while reading your posts. I am 42 years old and have been drinking off and on since I was 16. I had a dysfunctional childhood but that's no excuse right? I am addicted to vicodin right now. I have been using it off and on for about 8 years. I am taking about 8 5/500 a day.Between alchohol and vicodin I take something everyday. Why can't I just be ok with a clear head? Why do I have to have that fuzzy feeling? I am so worried about my health.I obsess constantly about my liver and kidneys.Why can't I just stop taking it??? I am an intelligent woman yet I continue to make bad choices. I want to stop and don't know how. I am so completely ashamed. I would be crushed if my husband or kids found out. I called and made an appointment for counseling yesterday and sat and sobbed afterward I think because I felt this was my first step. I am hoping the counseling will help heal whatever the problem is in my brain so I can make good choices once and for all. Has anyone out there ever been where I am and made it to a point where it feels good to be in reality, clear headed, sober? I have wasted so much of my life. I don't want to waste anymore. I would rather die than tell my family. Can I do this on my own with counseling? Is it possible? Please help.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-12-2005, 12:46 PM   #2
    Felicia65
    Veteran
    (female)

Felicia65 HB User
    Re: I am devastated and need help