It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addiction & Recovery Message Board

• What to say to Pain Mgmt. Doc.

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 03-09-2008, 04:37 PM   #1
    diamondgirl19
    (female)

diamondgirl19 HB User
    What to say to Pain Mgmt. Doc.

I feel a need to call my PM Doc and tell them I will no longer be using pain meds. My reason is twofold. I want to cut off my access to medication if I were to become tempted to call for a refill on my prescriptions. Secondly, I am under contract and if I need pain meds in the future (dental, emergency, etc) I don't want to be in violation of my contract. I am not planning for something to happen but in case of emergency, I don't want to be scrambling to get in touch with him. Is it necessary to be released from your contract if you leave the practice? This is my first time signing this type of agreement and I don't want to sound suspicious when I call.

What should I say? I don't want to tell him I was abusing my medication. I am planning to go to another PM doc who doesn't so willingly write prescriptions. I need to find another way to deal with my back pain. I never want to go down that path again but I don't want to be labeled a drug addict by this doctor.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-09-2008, 05:36 PM   #2
    Executor
    Inactive
    (male)

Executor HB UserExecutor HB UserExecutor HB UserExecutor HB UserExecutor HB UserExecutor HB User
    Re: What to say to Pain Mgmt. Doc.