It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addison's Disease Message Board

• Concerned about long term steroid usage

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 01-17-2008, 06:55 PM   #1
    crystal129
    (female)

crystal129 HB User
    Unhappy Concerned about long term steroid usage

Hello everyone. I am new to this, so please bear with me.

A little history:
    I am 35 years old and I was diagnosed with Addison's Disease in 1997 after several episodes of illnesses w/unexplained vomiting and dehydration. The initial diagnosis was iffy because although I did not produce cortisone (they ran all of the tests twice), I did not match all of the symptoms of Addison's. For example, I gained weight instead of losing weight, I didn't have the brown skin color in the creases of my skin, etc. My blood pressure has always been very low, I'm always cold, I constantly crave salt, I never have any energy, & I get sick very easily. I can catch the same cold as a "normal" person, however, I will always get it twice as bad and keep it for twice as long. Anyway, the way I understand it now is even if I was mis-diagnosed then, I would have Addison's now because I've been on the steroids for so long.

I went to 2 different endocronologists and they pretty much got me on the medications and then they were done with me. They told me that my family doctor could just refill my prescriptions for me. (they didn't need to see me).