It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addison's Disease Message Board

• hello I'm new, I have addisons

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 04-01-2008, 02:32 PM   #1
    jenni12
    (female)

jenni12 HB User
    hello I'm new, I have addisons

Hello,
    This is my first time ever talking to anyone that has the same thing as me. I've had addisons for four years now, and I'm 24 years old. I was sick pretty much since I was 12. I never weighed more than 100 pounds growing up, and I'm 5 feet 7 inches. Before my diagnoses it was very hard I was only 93 pounds and always sick. Didn't know why, the doctors of course did they thought I was anerexic for years. My symtoms towards the end were so bad that I was in bed 24-7 and getting IV theropy. But on weekend I was almost passing out and couldn't keep anything down that night, they put me in the hospital, I was only 80 pounds. Thank goodness my doctor was out of town, everyone had to start from scratch. Question after question, test after test, about 4 days in the hospital a resident doctor read about addisons the night before, and looked at my nuckles on my hands, they looked like stripes. So the next day they took the long test, and I was diagnosed with addisons. It was amazing how much better I felt after the meds. So now 4 years later I am the heathiest I've been my whole life, of course I have set backs, but I just have to make sure to increase my meds. and I'm fine. But I've never talked to a person who has addisons, I'd like to hear their story and any women out there who have had children with addisons let me hear your story. Me and my husband are going to start a family soon and I'm scared but excited at the same time. So any advice that would be so helpful.
    Jenni

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-27-2008, 07:14 PM   #2
    lesley75
    (female)

lesley75 HB User
    Re: hello I'm new, I have addisons

Hi Jenni,