It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addison's Disease Message Board

• can you have Addisons & secondary adrenal insufficiency both?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 07-03-2009, 02:14 PM   #1
    sleepymommy
    (female)

sleepymommy HB User
    low ACTH AND low cort stim--please help!

Hello out there. I'm new here. Have some confusing results and have to wait 3 weeks before I can see my endo again. Can anyone out there help? I know of course I'll have to wait until I see the doc to know what's going on, just looking for what this it could mean so I can read up... I work in the medical field so I'm fairly knowledgable, but this is pretty complicated.

I've had fatigue, hair loss, salt craving, marked lightheadedness/pre-syncope, amenorrhea, and low blood pressure. My initial (random) cortisol was normal at 9 (norm 5-23). On a stimulation test, my ACTH was only 5 (norm <10) and my cortisol stim'd from 9 to 15, so didn't quite double. Endo put me on hydrocortisone and ordered a brain/pituitary MRI, which came back normal. The on-call endo actually called and put me on 20 mg hydrocortisone morning and 10 mg at night, but my personal endo called back a week later to say that dose was too high and to cut it in half. I actually felt much better on the first dose lightheadedness-wise.