It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addison's Disease Message Board

• elevated cortisol, elevated DHEA-S, low TSH and Low

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 04-28-2010, 10:18 AM   #1
    andeflora
    (female)

andeflora HB User
    elevated cortisol, elevated DHEA-S, low TSH and Low

Hi all.. I am new to this whole thryoid/adrenal thing and I am really confused! Here are some of my test results...

Free T4 1.18 (.82-1.77)
    TSH 1.1 (.5-4.5)
    Cortisol 17.6 @ noon (2.3-11.9)
    T3 141 (71-180)
    sedimentation Rate 6 (0-20)
    thyroid stim immunoglobulin are still out

PREVIOUS Test (2 weeks earlier)
    Free T4 .8 (.82-1.77)
    TSH .8 (.5-4.5)

1 Month ago DHEA-S 288 (45 - 270)

Typically someone would have high cortisol low DHEAS or vice versa. AND if someone had high TSH they would have low Free T4 or vice versa. Why are mine low/low and adrenal elevated/elevated? What could this be? I do have most of the hypothyroidism symptoms... exhaustion, rapid weight gain, dry itchy skin, dry hair, nails constantly breaking etc. But I see now that those are also symptoms of adrenal gland issues.

any one have any idea what is wrong with me!?!? I feel crazy with all of these symptoms and the test all coming back all over the place.

I would GREATLY appreciate any insight, ideas or feedback you have to offer!!!

Thank you in advance!!!!!!!!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-18-2010, 06:48 AM   #2
    Eva from Sweden
    (female)

Eva from Sweden HB User
    Re: elevated cortisol, elevated DHEA-S, low TSH and Low

Hi!

First I want to make clear that I am swedish and my english is quite good, but far from perfect and you might have to use your imagination while reading this

Just like you I have obvious thyroid symptoms. I also have TSH, T3 and T4 within range. I even have high DHEA combined with high cortisol.