It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Adrenal Disorders Message Board

• Tips that have helped me with palpitations

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 03-23-2011, 02:30 PM   #1
    summersplash
    (female)

summersplash HB User
    Tips that have helped me with palpitations

I am new to the board but a lifelong sufferer from crippling heart palpitations. I've dedicated the last few months of my life to reducing my symptoms, and have dramatically reduced the number and severity of palpitations. I'm not a medical professional, just someone who has devoted a lot of time to experimenting with what works for me, so I'm here to share what I've found helpful in hopes maybe my experiments will help others too.

I've experienced daily PVCs and PACs since middle school, as many as five in a row along with anxiety and lightheadedness with the attacks. Echos show moderate mitral valve regurgitation but no real answer as to why I have these palpitations. I hated betablockers for their side effects, so here's the list of what's helped as much as any drug I've been on.

The most helpful thing I've found has been to increase my water intake I drink water and juice constantly throughout the day. Aiming to need the bathroom every hour and a half. It's annoying for long car trips but has greatly helped.

Next is avoiding caffeine. I'm sure we've all heard it from our cardiologists. I didn't find much relief switching from coffee to green tea, but I did find improvement when I cut out every molecule of caffeine from my diet. No tea, no chocolate, no rum and coke. It's tough, but the "no caffeine" rule didn't help until I went 100%.