It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Adrenal Disorders Message Board

• High Aldosterone + low blood pressure

• Post New Thread   Reply Reply
    Old 01-21-2014, 09:27 PM   #1
    zmichelkee
    (female)

zmichelkee HB User
    Question High Aldosterone + low blood pressure

Hello, This is my first time posting. I was diagnosed with low aldosterone (>1) about 3 yrs ago. I have low bp (90s-low 100s) I was taking Florinef & midodrine 2xday because I was passing out.

I had life-threatening complications after my large intestine was surgically removed and required a total of 3 major surgeries, 1 week apart (6/21, 6/28, 7/4). It put a huge strain on my system. In preparation for my 4th surgery (to reverse my ileostomy), my endo ordered blood work & the results were very confusing to both of us: High aldosterone, normal potassium and continued low blood pressure. We thought it might be a lab error, so we did the blood work again.

The day after surgery, I had an adrenal dump: pre-syncope episode with the emotional fallout. 3 days later, my potassium dumped and the endo on staff took me off of the Florinef to give the potassium a chance to stabilize.

Does any one have any idea what would cause the changes in my aldosterone? I had another round of blood work done today (electorlytes, Vitamin B12, kindey renin) & my endo is still confused about what this could mean if the aldosterone still comes back high. I am pretty tired most of the time & have a hard time falling asleep at night. Any insight you could provide is greatly appreciated!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-22-2014, 08:16 AM   #2
    ladybud
    Senior Veteran
    (female)

ladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB Userladybud HB User
    Re: High Aldosterone + low blood pressure