It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Allergies Message Board

• skin allergy / sensitivity from spectacles?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 04-29-2003, 11:24 PM   #1
    robin1977

robin1977 HB User
    Post skin allergy / sensitivity from spectacles?

Hi,

I'm 25 years old. I have been wearing glasses for more than 10 years. During the last year, I've developed some strange synptoms.

It all started when my spectacles got distored after being hit by a ball during a football game.

I tried to fix them (as I used to do in similar situation in the past), but whatever I did, I would still feel that there was something wrong with them.

I went to the optician to have them properly fixed. Even after that, I would still feel that my frame is not placed properly, I could feel the frame touching my skin behind my ears and my nose all the time, or I would feel that my frame was too loose and so on.

After a couple of days, I though that I should buy a new frame. I did. But still, the same problems occurded. I could feel the frame on me all the time.

I found a very old frame I used to wear for years with no problems, and tried that. Still, I was feeling that something was wrong.

Anyway, I've been trying to get use to these symtoms and got on with my life. I found out that when I made my frame feel tight on me, I wouldn't really notice it. But even with minor changes on its positioning, I would still feel it again on my face and try for ages to make it feel more comfortable. What worries me is that now, almost a year later, I feel that I'm developing some other symptoms from this. I'm regularely getting gooseflesh, especially in the mornings when I get up and wear my glasses. Waking up in the morning and having to put my glasses on is a nightmare. I know this may sound silly, but it has changed my life. I can't wear contacts because of my high level of astigmatism.