It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Anemia Message Board

• Newbie -- any insight appreciated

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 03-15-2016, 09:37 AM   #1
    hillview
    (female)

hillview HB User
    Newbie -- any insight appreciated

Hi all
    I am new to this. I've been very tired and just got my blood work back. I am waiting for my doc to call but wondering if anyone has any insight into these results. TIA!
    I put a * for the ones that are low based on the range the report gave me.

Ferritin: 6*

Iron: 25*
    TIBC: 367

HCT: 33.2*
    HGB: 10.1*
    MCH: 23.0*
    MCV: 75.6*
    PLT: 155
    RBC: 4.39
    RDW: 16.2 (high)
    WBC: 5.75
    for platelets it says "Giant platelet forms present Large Platelets Reviewed"

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-03-2016, 05:28 PM   #2
    Summergirl1977
    (female)

Summergirl1977 HB User
    Re: Newbie -- any insight appreciated

I don't know about the lab results, I know that is low ferritin and that's all you need to have symptoms. What are you experiencing? You're not alone. Is your doc treating you with iron?

Old 04-03-2016, 06:06 PM   #3
    hillview
    (female)

hillview HB User

Thanks for the reply! Yes I am going to get 4 infusions. Hope soon!

I am very very tired.

Old 04-16-2016, 11:38 AM   #4
    ash101881
    (female)

ash101881 HB User

Have you started yours yet? How long does it take to feel better? I just did a 6 hour infusion of Infed iron dextrose bc my insurance didn't approve Venofer. I also have Primary Immune Deficiency so I was born without an immune system and have to get IgG infusions at home daily. Everyone says how the steroid they give before gives them a boost but it does the opposite with me bc I slept the whole infusion and probably will next week too lol

Old 05-07-2016, 06:28 AM   #5
    Rindy1966
    (female)

Rindy1966 HB User

Quote:
    Originally Posted by hillview View Post
    Hi all