It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Anemia Message Board

• Blood tests indicate anemia: do symptoms match?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 05-27-2004, 03:46 PM   #1
    Meagan312
    (female)

Meagan312 HB User
    Blood tests indicate anemia: do symptoms match?

Hi, I'm new to the anemia board, though I posted on other boards before trying to match my symptoms to something. So far the only lab tests that are off are those that indicate anemia. I know the figures are low, but can any of you tell me how bad it is? (A little anemia? A lot?)

hemoglobin: 11.5
    hematocrit: 34.5
    red blood: 3.73

And can this be triggered by antibiotics or an infection? (I had a bacterial infection 2 months ago and went on 2 courses of antibiotics). Since then I've had the following symptoms;

- palpitations
    - weakness
    - panic attacks
    - weakness
    - buzzing in my ears
    - insomnia
    - chest pains and other aches

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-27-2004, 05:02 PM   #2
    Marimac
    Senior Veteran

Marimac HB UserMarimac HB User
    Re: Blood tests indicate anemia: do symptoms match?

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Meagan312
    Hi, I'm new to the anemia board, though I posted on other boards before trying to match my symptoms to something. So far the only lab tests that are off are those that indicate anemia. I know the figures are low, but can any of you tell me how bad it is? (A little anemia? A lot?)

hemoglobin: 11.5
    hematocrit: 34.5
    red blood: 3.73

And can this be triggered by antibiotics or an infection? (I had a bacterial infection 2 months ago and went on 2 courses of antibiotics). Since then I've had the following symptoms;

- palpitations
    - weakness
    - panic attacks
    - weakness
    - buzzing in my ears
    - insomnia
    - chest pains and other aches

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.