It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Anemia Message Board

• Help with Blood Test!

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 01-07-2006, 05:02 PM   #1
    iamwoman
    (female)

iamwoman HB User
    Question Help with Blood Test!

Sorry this is long but I hope someone can help me figure this out.

I recently visited the Hematologist because I have had a high WBC for about 4 months. The results of my blood test there were as follows:
    WBC 7.9 Back to normal
    Lymphocytes 3.2 a little high
    Platelets 401
    Ferritin 164
    Folate 11.9
    B12 313
    % iron Saturation 13 Low (WHAT IS THIS?)
    Iron 62
    TIBC 463 high
    UIBC 401 high
    TSH 1

Pernicious Anemia runs in my family. The Dr.'s nurse told me to take B12 and return for more test in March.

Does it look like my iron is low? It kind of does to me but I'm new at this.

Also, the reason my blood was checked in the first place was I went to the ER (which I never do) in August because of severe pain in basically the whole top portion of my body including my head and exhaustion. I had my 2nd neck surgery in April and thought it maybe due to this. They sent me to my Dr. and he did an exam and blood test and referred me to Hema. He also noticed I had hyperpigmentation on my face and checked my Thryoid but it came back normal. I've also been to my Neuro-Surgeon and had an MRI which indicated I had 2 more herniated disc (my 6th now) and he wanted to operate for the third time. The last time he punctured my spinal cord. (I'm beginning to think he maybe a little knife happy). I requested alternative treatment and have been receiving treatment which has made pain bearable now from Pain Center. (I'm going to chage Neuro's)