It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Anxiety Message Board

• Anxiety treatments

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 12-10-2003, 01:41 AM   #1
    tany

tany HB User
    Smile Anxiety treatments

Hello all,
    Just found this website as now know it is anxiety that I suffer from. I'm a Uni student and find it hard giving presentations or even asking questions in a class or any other group, so I normally stay quite to avoud embarrassing myself.

Are there any good treatments out there, bearing in mind I have mild asthmatic symptons too, so cant take 'betablockers'. I've tried books but seem to forget what was read when put in the situation.

Can this be overcome or am I goig to stay like this, which I am really fed up of?

Thanks in advance.
    Tany

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-10-2003, 06:47 AM   #2
    Graciecat
    Senior Veteran
    (female)

Graciecat HB UserGraciecat HB User
    Re: Anxiety treatments

Yes, there are good treatments out there.
    For some it's medication for others it's therapy.

To answer your other question, yes you can overcome it..I don't have panic attacks any more and I thought at one time that I'd never get over them.

IMO, the first thing you should do is go to a Doctor.
    He/She will probably run tests to rule out other problems...this doesn't mean there is anything wrong with you, it's just what a good Doctor will do.
    I don't think any Doctor should just tell someone that they suffer with panic disorder without these tests.
    Then they should discuss treatment options with you.
    If they want to put you on medication that's fine, but be sure you know all the drawbacks to anything they want to give you.

Medication was the only thing that worked for me...but it's not for everyone.
    Therapy works for others...but was a waste of time and money for me.

In the end, the way you decide to treat this disorder is up to you.

Good Luck