It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Anxiety Message Board

• Starting Zoloft

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 05-20-2005, 04:52 PM   #1
    Magmoor
    (female)

Magmoor HB User
    Question Starting Zoloft

Hi! I'm new to this side of the boards. What I've described to my doctor today seems and feels like social anxiety, and with that comes depression, since I feel so crippled by not being able to reach out and act "normal" in social settings. So she prescibed me some Zoloft today. According to the prescription, I will start at 50 mg. I won't be able to get it filled until Tuesday, so until then, I wanted to come here for some opinions.

I consider myself a proud person to a certain extent, and because of that, I don't want to have to rely on anti-depressants/anxiety meds for the rest of my life. As a result, I'm thinking that I will combine the meds with counseling/therapy and eventually ween myself off the pills. Does that seem plausible? I patiently await your opinions! Thanks for reading!

Cheers,
    Magmoor

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-20-2005, 06:40 PM   #2
    sheltrpn
    (female)

sheltrpn HB User
    Re: Starting Zoloft

Hello

I took Zoloft back in 99 and just stopped it this past fall, I took 50 mg. and did very well on it for anxiety and depression. I am kicking myself now for ever going off of it.

I just saw my psychiatrist on Tuesday and she put me on the medicine. The difference between a psychiatrist and a regular doctor is that they wean you on and off of medicines. I started at 25 mg. on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. Today my anxiety was so bad that when I called her she told me to take the 50 mg. starting today instead of tomorrow to start getting that dose in my system. I think using medications and also using therapy is good, but I think I will always have anxiety and I don't see to control it well without medication. If it is in your genes then it is there.