It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Anxiety Message Board

• Constant dizziness for 12 yrs - is it anxiety?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 08-08-2005, 02:25 AM   #1
    7ducks
    (male)

7ducks HB User
    Constant dizziness for 12 yrs - is it anxiety?

Hey guys,
    i have been fighting constant dizziness for over 12 years now, and noone seems to know what's wrong with me so I thought iíd post and see if anyone had some clever ideas.

My symptoms began during study for the hsc in 1993 and have been continuously with me ever since. The Ďdizzinessí itself is an intense groggy heavyheadedness like being hungover or having a head cold 24/7, and all the constant fatigue and headaches that goes with it. I donít experience vertigo or any other motion type dizziness.

Other major symptoms (as well as low energy and frequent headaches) include: dry, sore, itchy eyes; poor memory and concentration; and neck tension and pain (and inflexibility).

I also experience anxiety, particularly when I have to speak formally in front of others or am stressed (but I worry about oh so many things), and I have been diagnosed as having an anxiety disorder or social phobia. Although I have been told that anxiety could be a cause for the constant heavyheadedness, I reckon that the anxiety is a symptom of the primary issue, whatever that is. The main reasons iím not convinced itís anxiety is that I rarely feel anxious (although iím dizzy all the time), when I do get anxious I feel a different type of dizziness like a lightheaded buzzing feeling, and the grogginess never lets up and rarely fluctuates once iím up for the day, no matter where I am or what I am doing Ö am I wrong?