It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Anxiety Message Board

• HELP!!! Lexapro withdrawal or something more serious?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 10-04-2005, 03:42 PM   #1
    Jendays247
    Inactive
    (female)

Jendays247 HB User
    Unhappy HELP!!! Lexapro withdrawal or something more serious?

Hi all,

This is my first time posting on these message boards. I'm a frequent visitor of other panic and anxiety forums...

I have been off of Lexapro for about 3 weeks now. I had taken it for the past year, beginning at 5 mg and going up to 10 but stopping there. About three weeks ago, probably the third or fourth day of me quitting the Lex. (cold turkey), I was driving and had this tingling feeling as if the left side of my brain fell asleep. I felt that I couldn't focus my vision correctly and nearly had to pull my car over.

I went to my PCP the next day and she ordered an MRI. The MRI revealed one spot of "non specific white matter" to which the neurologist INSISTS is nothing and could possibly have been there my whole life. I question now that I have MS, as I have been experiencing headaches, severe dizziness, blurred vision, and nausea over the past few weeks almost daily. I have had dizziness ever since my anxiety began, but it has been pretty severe ever since I stopped taking the Lexapro.

I'm wondering if the feelings I'm having are from not taking the Lexapro (it has been nearly 3 weeks now...? ) or if I should be more concerned with an underlying neurological disorder. My clinical examination by the neuro was absolutely fine, and all my tests (VEP, EEG) have come back for the most part normal. I still have been feeling sick every single day. I know my anxiety isn't helping it, but I just wonder if I should be persistent and get more tests done or just hope this lets up...?

Any advice would be GREATLY appreciated!!!
    Thank you!
    Jenny

Sponsors Lightbulb