It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Anxiety Message Board

• anxiety vs. depression...also just need a friend.

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 02-19-2007, 09:01 PM   #1
    ted318
    (male)

ted318 HB User
    Unhappy anxiety vs. depression...also just need a friend.

This is my very first post on these message boards, so Hello to everybody.

I am a college student studying spanish right now.

I'm here because I've gone through a lot of issues, and still feel the effects today, and for lack of better wording, just need someone to listen.

I was diagnosed with depression and social anxiety disorder about a year and a half ago...{REMOVED}

I feel a lot better right now than before...I used to have suicidal thoughts, sleep all day, bad appetite, push away loved ones, basically the worst of the worst when it comes to depression...

Every day I struggle with confidence/self-esteem...I am a friendly kind person, but very shy. I like everybody I meet and consider myself a good friend, but often have doubts whether I'm a good enough friend...

I find myself worried of how I come across to others to an obsessive level, and cannot speak without second guessing myself...this has become increasingly difficult to deal with on a daily basis...I assume that people do not like me, and am a very naturally negative person.

I have been on SSRI's for about 8 months now, and the results for the depression seem to be better...I am more active, accomplish my goals, and healthier overall. I still struggle with anxiety and social shyness though, and that in turn makes me feel badly about myself, especially when I find it difficult to talk to someone in person (this is why I'm trying a message board)

I know I've been droning on here! But if ANYBODY has any insight into depression vs. social anxiety, I would love to hear your ideas. I find it confusing to distinguish the two, and suffer from both of them everyday.