PDA

View Full Version : New on Plaquenil - Had a HORRIBLE experience!

Mimi1200
07-30-2015, 04:29 PM
Finally dx with Sjogrens after years of suffering (I graduated from the autoimmune limbo club; not a fun one to be in); praise GOD for lip biopsies!

I started plaquenil 3 weeks ago. Started on 200mg for 1st week, then went to 400mg. The 3rd day of taking it, my symptoms worsened: hip pain, back pain, shoulder pain, my muscles felt like they were burning, and, the nausea. Oh, the nausea dropped me to my knees.

Rheumatologist told me stop taking it. I'm been off 3 days and finally starting to feel like my achy, "normal", self.

I honestly felt like it was killing me!

Has anyone had this experience? I have no clue what medication is next, and if plaquenil is the mildest medication for Sjogrens, Lord, HELP ME!

SadNow
03-16-2016, 01:41 PM
I think that's what my dr wants to put me on. No freakin way. I'm sensitive to every medication out there practically and so I will just take your experience and tell my Dr "No thanks"

I'm such a terrible patient. But I'm not their guinea pig and so ill just take the aches. I will try the restasis I guess. Seems very few ever have a reaction to that. I've heard of people taking DHEA and getting relief. Have you tried that? Just curious.

Babs659
09-12-2016, 02:35 AM
I think that's what my dr wants to put me on. No freakin way. I'm sensitive to every medication out there practically and so I will just take your experience and tell my Dr "No thanks"

I'm such a terrible patient. But I'm not their guinea pig and so ill just take the aches. I will try the restasis I guess. Seems very few ever have a reaction to that. I've heard of people taking DHEA and getting relief. Have you tried that? Just curious.
Plaquenil is one of the old type of tried and true "wonder drugs" on the market. Therefore, you would most certainly not be a guinea pig. It helped me tremendously but took several months to really work.

prizm 2000
09-12-2016, 09:01 AM