PDA

View Full Version : Cap Highlighting Help

Kitty215
01-21-2004, 09:28 PM
I'm a college student so spending $100 or more every few months on highlights for my hair. I'm planning on growing my hair another 5 inches so it's at the middle of my shoulder bones (it's already quite a few inches past my shoulders already).

In the past I highlighted my hair w/ a cap and the results usually turned out good. I just have a few questions about highlighting my hair now...

1. With longer hair can I still use a cap? I tried one of the ones I have and pulled hair thru... It didn't seem to tangle too much when I pulled it off.

2. I used to use straight bleach to highlight but I was considering using a blonde hair dye instead. (My hair is dyed back to my natural mediumish/lightish brown color. some people might call it dark blonde?) Which is better?

3. How do you retouch cap highlights?? Would I keep highlighting the same way and then put lowlights in w/ the cap when it gets too blonde? I've always wondered about that when it came to highlights...

4. I really like this girl's hair. It's kinda hard to see but here's another place. My hair is about her brown color. I really like her highlights. How would I get them?? Cap, Foils? Using bleach or color?

Abbey32
01-21-2004, 11:07 PM
Using the cap is not good for longer hair. The foil is much better. I never do highlights on my own...way too risky. My hair is also medium brown and when I use at home blonde kits...it turns orange...so I learned my lesson and go to a salon now. I have blond highlights and also some honey...or caramel. I know 100 is a ton...but it's worth it in the end because if you mess up, you will have to pay to fix it anyway.

Kitty215
01-22-2004, 08:41 AM