PDA

View Full Version : Punch Biopsy - Suspected Melanoma-Waiting

bago
03-23-2005, 09:34 AM
Hello, I am new to the whole message board thing so please bear with me. I recently had a mole removed by the “punch” method and was wondering how long it normally takes to get results back from the biopsy. My philosophy has always been it is good if you do not hear back from the doctor right away. Is this true of biopsies of the skin? Is there a normal waiting period? It has been almost a week. Thank you very much for your help.

BonBe
03-23-2005, 10:38 AM
Hello and welcome to the boards.

Do not ever just 'go along with the 'no news is good news scenerio' it is just not prudent! now that said.... well, it depends greatly on the doctor, and even what country you are in. Seriously.

I would think 10 days is plenty of time. Some folks get results in way shorter time, some (like me) get results much longer. Why not allow 10 'business days' to me that sounds feasible.

I had 15 days, and found out I had Malignant Melanoma when I went in to get the 4 stitches out from my excisional biopsy. Did you have any stitches with your punch? One thing on this road I am travelling that I have learned, is never to allow a 'shave' biopsy on a suspected nasty mole!

You can maybe even call the doctors office to see if they have any results. Do not just leave it up to the doctors....

Glad though that you have had it looked into, and something done. Remaining vigilant is what is key here. When in doubt have it out.

Bonnie

bago
03-23-2005, 11:28 AM
Thank you for replying to my post so quickly Bonnie and I appreciate the Welcome message! I agree with you, 10 business days seems acceptable. That actually is when I have an appointment to get my stitches removed (only 2).

I'm sorry to hear that your biopsy came back as a Malignant Melanoma. How long ago was that and how are you doing now?