PDA

View Full Version : Mohs tomorrow.. need advice

karicm
05-16-2005, 01:57 PM
Help! I am 29 and this is my first time with Mohs - I have BCC on side of nose that wasn't diagnosed for over a year and now I am going in for treatment .. what can I expect tomorrow and what about recovery? Stitches? Pain? Would just appreciate a heads up..I have 2 little kiddos and want to prepare! Thanks!

sharoncain
05-16-2005, 02:29 PM
Hi. I had Mohs on three places on my face on the same day. I was there for 12 hours. My doctor gave me a valium to calm me. I think that helped as my skin is rather tough so they had to give me over a dozen shots to numb my face. I did not have a place on the side of my nose, but you should expect them to sterile dress your face. Numb your area. Once numb, you should be good to go. They will cut what they think is the cancer and test it while you lay there and wait. I was allowed to have my husband in there with me so he kept me company while we waited. It takes about 20 minutes for them to see if they need to cut more. Most likely they will have to cut at least one more time. If it's a good doctor, the more stitches, the better. My doctor sent me to a plastic surgeon the next day because I had large holes and needed a z-plasty. I had 52 stitches and I think the scarring is very, very minimal. I don't know how it will go as far as noses. Hopefully, it won't be extensive as far as reconstruction. Have they said? Good luck to you and hope this helps.

Belle2003
05-16-2005, 03:37 PM