PDA

View Full Version : Can you smell Tylenol?

o_janus_o
05-23-2006, 04:29 AM
Kind of a weird question, I know, but I can smell Tylenol when I take it. About the time that it's starting to kick in I get this weird sort of dusty smell in my nose. Does this happen to anyone else? Does anyone have any clue what could cause it? On rare occasions I smell it when I drink alcohol. I've had my liver function tested recently and it's fine so I don't know that it's my liver. Who knows though...?

mystic_star
05-23-2006, 07:01 AM
i'm a pharmacy technician and i'm around medicine all day. I have never noticed anything with tylenol in it that has a strong smell. Just regular tylenol don't have one (not that i can smell). Have you checked the expiration date? I do know that outdated drugs of any kind tend to have a stronger smell the longer they sit around. If not, maybe your nose is just very sensitive to smell!

o_janus_o
05-23-2006, 03:38 PM
It's not a smell of the actual pill, it's a reaction inside my body. For some reason after I take it I can smell a dusty smell when it kicks in. Really weird.

Sunlover
05-23-2006, 04:39 PM
That happens to me too!! But it's a lot worse with pure asperin! I always thought I was strange and never asked anyone about that - but I thank YOU for bringing it up! And it only happens if I walk OUTSIDE, I'm ok in the house! Is your worse outside? And you are right, it will happen around the time it "kicks in"! Wow! I'm not the only one!!! :D

o_janus_o
05-23-2006, 10:02 PM
How strange. I've never had it happen with aspirin at all! I guess that tells me it's not my liver, at least. That's good to know. I think that it might get worse when I'm outside. I notice it indoors, but when I was young and I first became aware of it I only noticed it outside. Maybe it's some strange combination of fresh air and a subtle change in our brain chemistry from the pain killers. How strange.