PDA

View Full Version : Soy Milk?

organicgirl
02-02-2007, 10:32 AM
I'm new to Soy beverages. I use them in my smoothies and only have one cup a day because I'm still a little cautious of it.

Yesterday I tried Vitaysoy Chocolate Peppermint!! SO GOOD!

I just started researching Soy and it seems as though it may not be as healthy as once believed.

When I research cows milk, there seems to be a lot of negative information on consuming that as well.

What do you guys feel comfortable drinking? What the newest study saying?

DayTrippin'
02-02-2007, 11:43 AM
I am very confused, because I've read conflicting reports. Have you noticed how there seem to be conflicting reports about everything?

I do drink Soy Milk, but I limit myself to doing it once a day. The biggest negatives I have read about are: 1) Too much estrogen 2)It has an ingredient (can't remeber the name) that mat cause cancer. I guess everything causes cancer these days.

Isis498
02-03-2007, 09:23 AM
Personally I avoid it like the plague, but I don't mind regular milk. But I also like rice milk, and Almond milk is very good. Hazelnut is good too. Almonds in particular are excellent for you nutrition wise.

So you have several choices if the soy thing worries you.

organicgirl
02-03-2007, 05:01 PM
Hhmm. Maybe I should look into Rice milk. I've been reading this book called "Skinny B*tch" and they talk about totally avoiding dairy if you ever want to be skinny. The way they describe cows milk, it makes you never want to touch the stuff again.

Its so frustrating researching it because I can't seem to find any concrete answers. I have read that Soy contains enough chemicals to totally change a womens menstrual cycle.

I only drink it once a day, but still I wonder if I should consume it at all??
I've been drinking green tea everyday for about two months now, and a few days ago I read that I personally shouldn't be drinking it at all due to a thyroid definency!! aarrrggghhh!

Mike In NY
02-04-2007, 08:46 AM