PDA

View Full Version : activities after being diagnosed with melanoma ???

nicky326
08-28-2008, 10:58 AM
Hi

I'm new at this and new to having been diagnosed with a lentigo(?) melanoma on my left upper arm after going to a pigmented skin cancer clinic for 22 years. During all that time, everything went well except having a few suspicious moles taken off and a few basal and squamous cancers taken care of on a body that has many dysplastic nevi, mostly on my back. Monday I had the melanoma worked on by a plastic surgeon to make larger margins to make sure the in situ melanoma was not larger. At that time also, 2 other spots were removed (leg and other arm).What I think is surprising is all of these were really small and I always put at least 30 sometimes 50 SPF on. No word yet on the biopsies. I was told I have 5 risk factors.

I would very much want to know from those of you who have had melanoma years ago, how you go about your life ,since this has rocked my world. I play(played?) golf and tennis and want to know about any of you out there how you deal with outdoor activities. Am I destined to cover up with the 60+ uv clothing ,play before 10 a.m. and after 4 p.m., and hang outside only on rainy days?

LuckyladyNZ
08-28-2008, 01:16 PM
Hi,
I posted my fears of paranoia yesterday and I too am wondering how to be "outside" in the future. I am 40 next year and live in a country that is very outdoors. I hope you get some good advice and i shall be following your responses as hopefully it will help me too.

Dallas08
09-02-2008, 12:22 PM
I was on my way to my girlfriends beach condo when I found out of my diagnoses. We got to there and I didn't want to go into the sun at all. I called the RN hotline at my hospital and they informed to just put on plenty of sunscreen and I will be fine. I make sure to put spf 50 on every little mole. Definitely not taking any more chances.

mahnee
09-02-2008, 01:05 PM