PDA

View Full Version : Support: Detaching from a heroin addict with love

mynameisjulie
12-02-2013, 08:46 AM
I am new to a message board, but I really need the support of family and friends of addicts, so here I go (and thank you for listening and providing advice).

I was in a very serious relationship with my live in ex-boyfriend who happened to be a heroin addict. I was under the impression when we met that he was in recovery and leading a drug-free life: he had a nice apartment in downtown Chicago, nice furniture, was working a program, going to therapy, looking for a new job, and seemed to be doing what was needed in recovery (but how would I know, I wasn't an addict?). However when he wasn't able to make rent, his wealthy parents would send his landlord checks in hopes he would pay them back—finally when his lease was up a few months later and my roommate decided she was going to move out, we decided “what the heck, let’s move in together so we can both save some money.” Things were OK for 6 months, until he wasn't involved in program anymore, I lost my job, then he lost his job and everything was on my shoulders because he was blowing all of his money on heroin. He lied, stole, lied, stole some more, even went as far as stealing my year-old car during a Chicago blizzard and getting into an accident (leaving me carless for over two months). It was at that time I decided I couldn't live like that anymore, and made the conscious decision to contact his parents and tell them he needed to go back to an inpatient rehab for the 3rd time.