It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Arm, Wrist & Hand Message Board

• Fingertip Avulsion and surgicel

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 06-02-2017, 04:36 AM   #1
    Yahyah149
    (female)

Yahyah149 HB User
    Fingertip Avulsion and surgicel

I sliced the tip of my finger (distal end, right before my nail) off yesterday morning. It bled a lot and I work in the medical field, so I went to an urgent care to have it looked at and to make sure it wouldn't get infected at work.
    He gave me this stuff called surgicel to help the bleeding to clot and told me to remove it that evening. The problem is, when I removed it (even after soaking in saline) it was like ripping a scab off and basically made it start bleeding just as bad as before. He gave me an extra piece of surgicel incase it was still bleeding, so I applied that to make it stop and went to bed.
    My biggest concern is that when I take this one off, it will do the same thing. Any tips on a way to remove these without reopening the wound? Or should I be leaving it on for more than 12 hours and let it work itself off?

Last edited by Yahyah149; 06-02-2017 at 04:37 AM. Reason: Surgicel

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 06-04-2017, 11:37 AM   #2
    kefu10
    (female)

kefu10 HB User
    Re: Fingertip Avulsion and surgicel

Hello, I'm wondering what you ended up doing with the surgicel? I found myself in the same position and I've just kept the surgicel on my finger because I'm afraid it will rip off and bleed again and when I called my doctor they said it was okay to leave on. Thanks.

Old 06-04-2017, 11:44 AM   #3
    Yahyah149
    (female)

Yahyah149 HB User

This only happened 3 days ago, so I'm not sure I can give you any sound advice. So far I have just left the surgicel on my finger. Did your Dr give you a time frame and directions on when Andy how to remove it?

Old 06-04-2017, 12:02 PM   #4
    kefu10
    (female)

kefu10 HB User