It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Arm, Wrist & Hand Message Board

• Wrist pain and work

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 01-27-2014, 06:52 PM   #1
    BadxWolff
    (female)

BadxWolff HB User
    Post Wrist pain and work

I've been having wrist pain/uncomfort for years. But it's gotten worse now and I can't focus on my job or my main hobby (art). It hurts way too much.
    So I went to see a doctor and they said I have tendinitis and gave me a splint.
    I went to work later that day and I just couldn't work with the splint so I had to keep taking it off and on and ect and my job is very hands on. (I work in manufacturing) It still was painful.
    I went to the doctor the next day asking for some time off work to see if I can rest my wrist and anything else. He gave me a shot and gave me a week off work.I went on Short Term Disability since I have no PTO days and such. Well the following week I was still having pain, and actually feeling worse now. The doctor said he'll only give me until the 23rd off and to go to a Orthopedic doctor. I made an appointment right away.
    So the 23rd I went to my appointment and that doctor didn't say anything, and I felt kinda rushed and he set up an appointment for an MRI.

When I was checking out I asked about continuing my time off. They called the Doctor and he said Im cleared to go back, but I said I can't work with the splint and it hurts to add pressure to my wrist, and I have to push into the buffers at work.
    They called the nurse back and they said okay, if you're on short term and your regular doctor put you on short term, stay on.
    But now I'm getting scared that if the Short Term lady calls the doctor, the doctor will say I'm cleared back. I don't want the lady to think I'm lying.
    I have another appointment on Thursday, which I'll definitely bring up everything, even if I am rushed.