It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Arthritis Message Board

newly diagnosed with gout

Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-09-2017, 11:28 PM   #1
tweetsie 16404
(female)

tweetsie 16404 HB User
newly diagnosed with gout

I got out of the hospital after spending 6 days there. I was diagnosed with a septic joint infection in my shoulder and gout. Very painful. I am now watching what I eat and not eating anything with high fructose corn syrup and no alcohol whatsoever. I've had this for 16 years and the doctors knew it but were too lazy to follow up and find the source of the pain. Just kept shoving pain pills at me. Now have to follow up with physical therapy because I have been in a power chair for 8 years and have to learn to walk again.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 06-20-2017, 02:43 PM   #2
midwestloner
(male)

midwestloner HB User
Re: newly diagnosed with gout

I am new to these boards and hope to share and learn more about gout and how to manage the pain associated with it without being all medicated up.

My Mother had gout and along with her alcohol abuse it eventually killed her.

I started getting horrible pain in my big toes several years ago and when I went to see my doctor he told me that I had gout. Started me on Allopurinol and I have been taking that every day ever since. However, that does not eliminate or cure gout. I still get flare ups and if I don't immediately attend to the symptoms, I am in agony within 1-2 days. My doctor seems a bit ambivalent to my pain and just tells me to take more allopurinol until the pain subsides. However, research that I have read on the web seems to indicate that during a gout attack that you should stop allopurinol.