It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Arthritis Message Board

• Osteoarthritis vs post traumatic arthritis

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 06-19-2001, 08:18 PM   #1
    Michele0789
    (female)

Michele0789 HB User
    Question Osteoarthritis vs post traumatic arthritis

Can someone help me understand the difference between osteoarthritis and post traumatic arthritis. I am new to all of this and trying to educate myself. I apologize if some of my questions seem dumb.

I am 30 years old and was in a car accident in Feb. I fractured (basically crushed) my ankle and also fractured my right hand. My orthopedic doctor is slowly and gently letting me know how this injury is going to affect me for the rest of my life. He has mentioned several times that I will have severe arthritis in my ankle. The two types of arthritis that I have heard mentioned in relation to my injury are osteoarthritis and post traumatic arthritis. In this type of situation is arthritis something that I am going to suffer from immediately or will the onset of symptoms take a while? I know that this next question is probably not something that can be answered, but if anyone can give me any insight into this issue. How debilitating can this be? Will I still be able to play tennis and remain physically active? Is it possible that it will get to a point where I will not be able to walk? Once again, I apologize for my ignorance. Thank you for any information that you may be able to provide me.

Michele

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 06-20-2001, 02:53 PM   #2
    Mattsmummum

Mattsmummum HB User