It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Asperger's Syndrome Message Board

• Planning for my son's future with Aspergers

• Post New Thread   Reply Reply
    Old 05-02-2014, 01:55 PM   #1
    MySilentLife
    (female)

MySilentLife HB User
    Planning for my son's future with Aspergers

I would love as many opinions as possible on this subject:
    Kindergarten. To go...or not to go....that is the question.
    My son was diagnosed with high functioning asperger's. Please get past the politically incorrect verbage I use since I am fairly new with this diagnosis and am just learning.
    My son turned 5 in March. He is academically ready for kindergarten, maybe he's even a little socially ready...but everything I read says this changes around first grade. In all fairness, he has fine motor problems and a little sensory too- but loves kids, people and school.
    By holding him back or having him repeat kindergarten, will this help him down the road? I'm blindly trying to make this decision and would love to hear from some people who have been there or have the knowledge to share as to why, or why not I should do this.
    Please consider his options are:
    Going to Private Kindergarten and then repeating Kindergarten in the public school system the following year.
    Going to a private Pre-K (although I think he will be bored since he just finished Pre-K and did excellent there). Then attending either the private school Kindergarten or public school.
    WE also have an option of a private school in the area who does a Kindergarten curriculum in their Pre-K class, and first grade in their Kindergarten class.
    Public school will not allow you to repeat Kindergarten (plus, I don't think it would be good for him to repeat at the same school). The public school has 11 kindergarten classes with 26 kids in them.
    the Private school's have 8-12 in the class.