It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Autism Spectrum Message Board

• Looking for other parents

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 03-23-2001, 12:54 PM   #1
    jtsmom

jtsmom HB User
    Talking Looking for other parents

Hi! I am new to this form of support, but very experienced with being the parent of an autistic child. I have a beautiful loving 7 year old little boy, who is considered profoundly autistic and non verbal. I have just started to potty train him after many other attempts, and I am happy to report that after 2 weeks, he is beginning to catch on. I was curious if anyone has any suggestions on different things I can try to help his accomplish this goal. Any and all help is appreciated.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-23-2001, 02:52 PM   #2
    eweejoe
    Inactive

eweejoe HB User
    Congratulations on the potty training. My son is 8 and is also autistic and non-verbal. I don't have any advice for you because my son is not potty trained. I have always felt like he knows more and is capable of more than he does. Was just wondering if your son is that way. I have never even made a serious attempt to potty train him. I would be curious as to how you're 'introducing' your son to the potty. If he's catching on, then I would say GREAT and keep up the good work. Hope someone will have some advice for you instead of wanting advice from you like me. Good Luck to you and your son!!

Old 03-26-2001, 05:45 AM   #3
    jtsmom

jtsmom HB User