It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Autism Spectrum Message Board

• Nephew on Spectrum? or SPD? His parents in denial :(

• Post New Thread   Reply Reply
    Old 09-11-2013, 10:19 AM   #1
    BabsB8
    (female)

BabsB8 HB User
    Nephew on Spectrum? or SPD? His parents in denial :(

I have a nephew who will be 8 next week. He is a highly intelligent child and reading on a 5th grade level. Very curious and yet so very sensitive. Since he was a toddler I always noticed something was a little 'off' about him. As he has grown, so have his obvious behavior patterns that give me the clue that he is on the spectrum of symptoms for Autism, Asperger's or just Sensory Processing Disorders. I am not a doctor, but over the years his symptoms have disturbed me so much that I have googled my way through searching the symptoms of those disorders. I have tried give hints to point them out to his mother but to make a long story short, she knows he's 'different' but she refuses to believe he has a 'disorder' or needs any sort of therapy. I am worried how this will affect him mentally and socially in the future.

Here is a breakdown of his current signs that concern me:
    • tippty toe walks (also walks flat footed sometimes, and has an awkward gait)
    • Clumsy, uncoordinated. Cannot pedal a bike, has to go down stairs one at a time (both feet on one stair, each stair), afraid to climb up things or swing high
    • Beyond a picky eater. Only eats a limited number of foods. Main course is peanut butter on crackers. Mostly dry, salty foods. Will eat apples and grapes, but no other fruits and veggies. The most striking of his picky eating habits is that although he is right handed, he eats only with his left hand, using only his pointer finger and thumb, with the other fingers curled in toward his palm, and will only take very small miniscule bites using his front teeth.