It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board

Need help deciphering MRI

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-16-2017, 01:47 PM   #1
lolgambler
(female)

lolgambler HB User
Question Need help deciphering MRI

This is my first post. I am new to this level of back pain and probable continuing deterioration. Any comments, etc., would be very much appreciated.

I have been having severe back pain particularly when getting out of bed in the morning. After an x-ray last month indicated DDD and other issues, I requested an MRI be done to provide specifics. The MRI was done on 6/14/17 and my family doctor’s note in my medical portal is “Foramen Stenosis L1-2, and 3mm Posterolisthesis of L1-2 and L2-3 – Levorotoscoliosis. Would not pursue this unless causing problem. If problem with increase in pain and decreating quality of life would see neurosurgeon.”

My doctor knows I will not consider surgery, steroid injections, or Rx painkillers.

The following is from the radiologist. I really need each item broken down into something I can understand. My intention is to continue pain management on my terms which currently is working fairly well: Tylenol Arthritis as needed, body pillow when sleeping, back brace, heating pad. BTW, I am a “woman of age” who has had back problems over the years but nothing that chiropractors couldn’t “fix.”

Impression:

1. Lumbar levorotoscoliosis.

2. Hemangioma is incidentally noted in the L1 vertebral body.

3. L1-2 level: Posterolisthesis of L1 on L2 measures 3 mm. Diffuse disc bulge effaces the ventral epidural fat. Anterior disc bulge with spondylosis displaces the prevertebral soft tissues. Neural foramina are narrowed bilaterally.