It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board

• Four Months Post Surgery

• Post New Thread   Reply Reply
    Old 02-01-2019, 07:29 AM   #1
    Riccardo15
    (male)

Riccardo15 HB User
    Unhappy Four Months Post Surgery

I am 61 years old and had back surgery in early Oct. It was a 2 level fusion and laminectomy. Early in it was painful but I am use to being active so I started physical therapy early and did it often. I listened to my body and tried not to over do it. I was able to walk a moderate paced mile by week 8 and I was back at work at 10 weeks. I work in health care and I spend time both at a desk and moving about the facility. My surgeon sent me back with no restrictions, but my physical therapist advised me to limit the weight I lift for a few months. He did okay my using light weights, cables and pulleys if only to get back into my personal program. I controlled the soreness with acetaminophen. Weeks 8-11 were encouraging. I felt like I was healing, getting stronger. Weeks 13-15 have been horrible. I am back on my cane, wearing my back brace. I am taking low dose narcotics. I am considering requesting an MRI. The only things I have been guilty of were lifting a frozen Christmas turkey that was much larger than I expected and sex. My surgeon said it was okay to try sex, but I have to admit pain interrupted most attempts. Also the weather has been progressively colder. Winter ain't coming it's here.

Anybody got a similar experience to share, or words of advice? It is getting me down.

Last edited by Administrator; 02-01-2019 at 08:30 AM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-01-2019, 09:04 AM   #2
    teteri66
    Senior Veteran
    (female)

teteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB User
    Re: Four Months Post Surgery