It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board

• Discectomy recovery

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 03-15-2007, 06:14 PM   #1
    OnHold
    (female)

OnHold HB User
    Discectomy recovery

How long does it usually take for recovery from discectomy before you recover from the post-surgical pain? How long is the average before you can return to work (office job)?

It seems someone mentioned as little as 2-4 weeks, but lately all the stories I'm reading are talking about heading toward fusion before recovery from discectomy is even complete.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-15-2007, 06:45 PM   #2
    syrinx2112
    (female)

syrinx2112 HB User
    Re: Discectomy recovery

Hi there,

I had a microdisectomy at L4/L5 and I couldn't return to work until 3 weeks after the surgery. I was a teacher at the time. I am not sure if it is the same time frame as a disectomy. Just thought I would share my experience with you. I hope you are doing well.

Angie

Old 03-15-2007, 08:10 PM   #3
    ustalaughalot
    (female)

ustalaughalot HB User

Hi onhold,

I had a discectomy on feb 26th. The surgeon at that time told me that I could probably return to work 3 weeks out but that was before this nerve thing flaired in my right leg post surgery. Now I will be out until the end of April and I also have an office job. So it depends on how smoothly your surgery goes and if you hit any complications. That being said on the usual, I think three to four weeks with no complications is the norm. for office type work. Usta

Old 03-16-2007, 11:17 AM   #4
    hurtie0607
    (female)

hurtie0607 HB User

Hi,
    I had a micro-d 11/21/06. It was L4-L5. I finally returned to work Feb. 26. I am not sure what the time frame is for a discectomy. I just thought I would add my thoughts.