It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board

• Epidural Steroid Injections-Male Perspective

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 12-01-2007, 11:42 AM   #1
    humanriff
    (male)

humanriff HB User
    Thumbs up Epidural Steroid Injections-Male Perspective

I have read a lot of the postings on here about ESI's but they most they seem to be from the gal's perspective and some interation with their monthlies so I thought I would tell my story. I am a 51 year old accountant (spend most of my time sitting for 30 years.) 5' 10" and 157

I went for two years with burning pain all the way from the base of my butt to the bottom of my feet. I was taking Niaspan for cholesterol so I stopped that thinking maybe it was neuropathy from that but no help. Also had severe pain in my right foot. First went to an ortho who diagnosed a bone spur in my big toe and some other miscellaneous arthritis in the rest of my foot (flat feet). Gave me cortisone shot in there that helped for a few weeks and have been on NSAIDS for at least 3 years. Then started noticing pretty severe ringing in my right ear and decided I needed to try something else.

Went to a neurologist who diagnosed nerve inflammation in both legs. CAT scan showed compression with nerve impingment at L1-S5 and S5-S4 with some stenosis and impingment on the sciatic nerve, which explained all the leg pain. I just had the 3rd ESI yesterday. I had them about a week and a half apart. The first one was like a miracle, but only lasted for about a week. The second one didn't last nearly as long, but I drove to my parent's for Thanksgiving (550 miles and back) and I'm sure that didn't help. Today, I am lying in bed on ice on a little Percocet buzz.