It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board

• Posterior Lumbar Fusion - Post op questions

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 08-17-2010, 07:04 AM   #1
    DracosHuman
    (female)

DracosHuman HB User
    Question Posterior Lumbar Fusion - Post op questions

Hi everyone. This is my first time posting to the message board but I have read many posts over the last month. I would like to thank everyone for posting here and helping others.

I have Grade II Spondylolisthesis with severe stenosis and herniated disc (and all the pain and such that goes with it). I have been unable to sleep in bed for more than 6 months. The only sleep I could get was in a recliner chair which eventually started to have effects on edema in my legs.

On August 5 I had the posterior lumbar fusion on L4 - S1 and Laminectomy. Prior to surgery I had numbness and pain from the sciatic in the right leg. Post op, I have noticed a marked improvement in the right leg and I can lay down now! (I haven't been in my recliner yet, afraid I won't be able to get out of it at this time.) However, at times, usually after waking up, I have had some sciatic pain in my left leg (which isn't there when I am laying down, start feeling it when I sit up and then it increases and then eventually decreases, takes about 45 minutes to an hour). First time was after laying on my right side with my adjustable bed inclined some. The other times was just within the last 24 hours and after laying on my back. I do adjust the bed to have my feet quite a bit higher to help combat the edema in my legs, which seems to be getting better.