HealthBoards

HealthBoards (https://www.healthboards.com/boards/)
-   Back Problems (https://www.healthboards.com/boards/back-problems/)
-   -   Terrified of my L4-L5-S1 spinal fusion (https://www.healthboards.com/boards/back-problems/835099-terrified-my-l4-l5-s1-spinal-fusion.html)

ssofalvi 02-09-2011 09:02 PM

Terrified of my L4-L5-S1 spinal fusion

Hello,
This is my first time ever posting on a message board... Bear with me!
I am getting a spinal fusion on L4 to S1 and a laminectomy (removing bone spurs) on March 03, 2011. I hurt my back on Feb 23, 2010, herniating two discs at L4-L5 L5-S1 and compressing two (or three) nerve roots in the process. Over the year I have lost sensation along the nerve pathway in my left leg and developed a searing rod of pain down my right leg. In an attempt to alleviate my symptoms I have been forced (by the pain, not my doctors) to take a horrendous amount of pain meds, I have attended physio religiously and increased my core strength by 200% (I am only 110 Lbs to begin with) ... I have still been in excruciating pain for the last year. While I have a great team of professionals, including my amazing Family Doctor, Chiropractor, Physiotherapist, Kinesiologist and Occupational Therapist, I am still quaking in my boots at the prospect of this surgery. I should add that my surgeon is the head of orthopedic surgery for my area and has never had any major complications arise... I am in the best hands. Yet, I can't shake this feeling of impending doom.
I know that this is the only way to get my life back and that the surgery is the first step to my recovery, the beginning of the end of my suffering, but it scares me to death that I will be more immobile, that I will be in more pain. I didn't know pain could get worse.