It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board

• L5-S1 Fusion through my stomach area

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 10-13-2011, 10:00 AM   #1
    avsevenx
    (female)

avsevenx HB User
    L5-S1 Fusion through my stomach area

I am new to this sight and this is my first post so I hope it makes sense. I was injured at work lifting and bending heavy equipment this was on December 2010, I went to the ER and they said I needed an MRI and sent me home with some meds for a few days. My left leg and back were hurting terribly and I couldnt get pain medication because I have not found a doctor yet. Then I went to Cary Orthopaedic and he sent me for an MRI and he was able to give me some pain meds. I went for the MRI and a few days later found out I had a L5-S1 disk herniation. Then my boss ended up filing this under workmans compensation because he said that since it happend at work this is how we needed to handle it. Then I had to go through the whole process over, went to a urgent care, got sent to Triangle Ortho. This is now February and I have been assigned to Dr. Dimmig and he does all the x-rays and looks at my MRI disk that I brought. He said to try the injection and pysical therapy first. I did the injection and had a not so pleasant reaction, my lower left side from my stomach to my ankle were completely numb for a day. Then I went to physical therapy and it didnt help because I was in too much pain. In the mean time the Dr. was giving me vicodin. After a couple weeks he decided that I needed a discectomy so he ordered that. Since it was workmans comp it took until April 25th to get the surgery. After I woke up I thought OH WOW I have been cured! Then about 4 hours later I found that I was way worse, my left side and my right side hurt worse than natural childbirth. I couldnt walk around at all well but I got sent home with dilaudid. I was in a wheelchair, I couldnt go