It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board

• MRI Results after fall & coccyx fracture.

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 09-02-2012, 05:09 PM   #1
    ilovestargate
    (female)

ilovestargate HB User
    Question MRI Results after fall & coccyx fracture.

[FONT="Georgia"][SIZE="3"]I've had disc herniations at L4-L5, L5-S1 since I was 18, so for 12 years now. I fell and fractured my coccyx about two weeks ago and began having some new symptoms and knew I needed an MRI done. I'm a nurse in an ER and knew what was going on, symptom wise (cauda equina syndrome), but really had to get it confirmed and needed to see how bad it was diagnostically. I've been on Prednisone for 9 days now with no improvement - I'm having saddle anesthesia, can't feel my left leg, left foot, have left foot drop, progressively increasing muscle weakness in that leg - and now these symptoms are moving to my right leg as well. Anyway, I saw a neurosurgeon on Friday and my report said that I have annular ligament tears at L4-L5, L5-S1 and also the discs are now pressing on the thecal sacs there as well and he is "very concerned" because I have not gotten any better, but gotten worse, even after being on Prednisone that long. I have to get the MRI disc and take to the neurosurgeon Tuesday and I'm nervous as to what the treatment plan will be. I've tried PT, ESI's, and other conservative treatment plans before but this is different. I've never had symptoms this bad before. Any thoughts as to what he might say or want to do?[/SIZE][/FONT]

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-02-2012, 08:36 PM   #2
    teteri66
    Senior Veteran
    (female)

teteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB Userteteri66 HB User
    Re: MRI Results after fall & coccyx fracture..