It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Back Problems Message Board

• lumbar fusion hardware removal

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 02-19-2013, 09:10 AM   #1
    in pain man
    (male)

in pain man HB User
    Question lumbar fusion hardware removal

New to the site and hoping i can find some help.
    I was a police officer for 10 years and ended up disabled within in 2 year period. I was in a fight that fractured a vertebrae in my neck, separated my shoulder and significant damage to L5 disk. I dealt with the pain from '03 to '06 when my neuro told me i had severe damage to my sciatic nerve. Dove into fusion in '06 at L5-S1.surg went well and recouped well.
    was back to work no restrictions as a patrolman -in 4 months and was promoted to Investigator 1 year later. I began to notice that as i was walking i was tripping on my own feet. was shortly diagnosed w foot drop. after several Dr visits, they all agreed i could not work in that condition as LEO. between '07 and '08 my pain increased and found it very hard to sit for any length of time and standing or walking was excruciating. several drs later, they agreed disability was my only option. so bit the bullet and 2 years later, the state deemed me disabled.